Back To Index
Koi Varieties

Koi are classed by pattern and color.
These are some terms to understand when reading the explanations of the types of Koi:
Ai - means Blue color
Aka - is red (as a base color over the body)
Beni - means orange-red (as a base color over the body)
Cha - means brown
Gin - silver (metallic)
Hi - means Red markings on the body of the koi
Karasu - black (as a base color. Literally means 'Crow'
Ki -yellow in color
Kin - gold (metallic) color
Midori - green in color
Nezu/Nezumi - means gray (literally 'mouse')
Orenji - orange in color
Shiro - means white
Sumi - black (markings on the body of the koi)
Yamabuki - yellow in color (literally, a Japonica bush with pale yellow flowers)
Doitsu - means a fish without scales or very few or scales in a pattern on the koi
Tancho - means a red spot or cap only on the head of the koi
Matsuba/Pinecone - means a darker color in the center of each scale giving a net like appearance to them

Kohaku - Duel color Koi, White Koi with Red markings/pattern
All Kohaku, including Doitsu, excluding Tancho Kohaku & Kinginrin Kohaku Taisho Sanshoku"Sanke"-Tri-Colored Koi, White body with red and black markings
All Sanke, including Doitsu, excluding Tancho Sanke & Kinginrin Sanke Showa Sanshoku "Showa"-Tri-Colored Koi, Black Koi with Red markings and White markings
All Showa, including Doitsu, excluding Tancho Showa & Kinginrin Showa Bekko - A Koi that is two colors, the base color being white Utsurimono - "Utsuri"A Koi that is two colors the base color being black Asagi and Shusui Koromo Kawarimono- A category for many types of koi that do not fit into a specific one listed.  Also includes some  Doitsu. Hikarimono or Hikari-Muji   - (Metallic single color Koi)
Commonly know as Ogon and Matsubas Hikari Utsurimono - (Metallic Showa and Utsuri) Hikarimoyo - (Metallic Multi-Colored Koi other than Showa and Utsuri) Tancho - Koi which have a single crown or red spot on the top of the head. This pattern can come in many shapes, round being the most desirable. Gin Rin & Kin Gin Rin - literally means golden silvery scales and refers to the sparkling effect of the scales which appears golden over Hi and silver over white and sumi. It gives an iridescence in individual scales rather than an over all metallic luster. Must have over 20 scales to be considered Gin Rin. There are four types of scales, namely Pearl, Ginrin, Beta-gin, Diamond Ginrin and Kado-gin.
KINGINRIN (GROUP 1) KINGINRIN (GROUP 2) All of the koi below are the same as what is listed in the above categories except that they all have Gin Rin Scalation which can appear as any of the four different types of scales. Goshiki -The 5 color overlay consists of white, yellow, red, blue and dark blue pigments